Civic Center Open: 8 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. Mask required in building with social distancing. Click COVID-19 for information.



Election Information

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

General Information

The chartered City of Vista is governed by a five-member City Council composed of the Mayor (elected at large) and four Council Members elected by district. The City Clerk is the election official and is responsible for the conduct of its municipal elections, as well as facilitating candidate filing procedures and assisting candidates in meeting their legal responsibilities during an election.  Elections are held in even numbered years. The next General Municipal Election will be held on November 3, 2020, for the City Council Member seats in District two and three.


By District Elections

The City of Vista has changed the way city council representatives are elected and has switched from an at-large election to a district-based election system. Beginning in 2018, the City’s new by-district election system divides the city into four geographic sections. Voters in each district select one council representative who also lives in that district. The mayor will continue to be elected at-large by the voters of Vista.

Quick Links

Voter Registration Information

Residents may register to vote at any time. If a qualified voter is not registered to vote and wants to vote in a particular election, the qualified voter must register at least 15 days before that election.

  • Voter registration requirements: U.S. Citizen and 18 years of age on or before election day.
  • Voter registration forms are available online at the San Diego Registrar of Voters website. Citizens can fill in the registration form on-line, print and sign, and mail to the Registrar of Voters.
  • Voter registration forms are also available at the City Clerk’s Office, U.S. Post Offices, public libraries, the Department of Motor Vehicles, and other public buildings.

Questions About Voting?

Contact the San Diego County Registrar of Voters
P: 800.696.0136 or online at Absentee ballots may be obtained from the San Diego County Registrar of Voters.


Free viewers are required for some of the attached documents.
They can be downloaded by clicking on the icons below.

Acrobat Reader Download Acrobat Reader Flash Player Download Flash Player Windows Media Player Download Windows Media Player Microsoft Silverlight Download Microsoft Silverlight Word Viewer Download Word Viewer Excel Viewer Download Excel Viewer PowerPoint Viewer Download PowerPoint Viewer