City News

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Electing City Council By Districts Explained

Post Date:06/14/2017 4:42 PM

The City of Vista is switching from an at-large election system (where voters of the entire city elect all City Council members) to a by-district election system (where the city is divided into districts and voters in each district select one council representative who lives in that district) via a resolution passed by the City Council on March 28, 2017. The City Council formally adopted a map via an ordinance that sets the boundaries for each of the four districts on June 13, 2017.

The north central district (District 1) and the south district (District 4) will elect their council representative in 2018. The east (District 2) and west (District 3) districts' elections will be held in 2020. The mayor will continue to be elected at-large by all voters of Vista.

How will by-district elections work?

Voters in the by-district election system only vote for the City Council seats up for election in their specific district. All four current Council Members will serve as at-large Council Members until the end of their current terms. At the end of their current terms, Council Members can run for re-election by district if they live in a district up for election at that time.

  • District 1: Council Member John Aguilera, November, 2018
  • District 2: Council Member Joe Green, November, 2020
  • District 3: Council Member Amanda Young Rigby, November, 2020
  • District 4: Council Member John Franklin, November, 2018

Election By District Boundary Map

At a later date, a street-by-street description of the district boundaries will be available online. If a member of the public does not have access to a computer, please contact the City Clerk's Office at 760.639.6125 or at the Clerk's Office during business hours at the Vista Civic Center

Elections By District Explained and Background Information


Return to full list >>